Awake My Soul

How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes. My heart stumbles on things I don’t know. My weakness, I feel, I must finally show. Lend me your eyes, I can change what you see, but your soul you must keep totally free. In these bodies, we live. In these bodies, we will die. Where you invest your love, you invest your life.

I am 6 days late, but I finally figured out what my new year resolution for 2012 is. As cliché as it sounds, a lot of meaning lies in the following promise I made to myself. This year, I will follow my dreams. In March, I will be in Mysore studying with Sharath Jois at the K. Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Institute. This is the first step to making many dreams come true, both mine and yours. Yes, yours. We learn from other people’s experiences. We live through other people’s experiences. We are encouraged by other people’s experiences. May this step remind me of what it feels like to be a student, eager to learn, appreciating all that I will learn from my short yet totally necessary trip to Mysore (definitely not the last) and allowing it to compliment all that I have learned from practicing in Montreal and Dubai, and from teaching. And may this opportunity be one that you can one day experience. I haven’t been there yet, and I’m slowly trying to forget about “expecting anything” out of this visit, but I know deep down in my heart and bones that this is a blessing, and it will be great.

Happy New Year to all of you, and I wish you enough 🙂

Note: the words in the first paragraph are not my own. They are the lyrics of a song by Mumford and Sons.

2 thoughts on “Awake My Soul

  1. Hallo,
    I was lucky this morning to find a yoga sequence on your blog pages, for which I want to thank you. And then I saw that you’re off to India soon to practice yoga & it reminded me of my trip some years ago to & how transforming the whole experience was for me. Not just the yoga practice (Iyengar in Dehradun) but the magic of the land. You will understand better what I mean once you are there.

    And so I wish you a very pleasant trip, enjoy your yoga & thanks again for sharing your knowledge with me (& us). Now to try the sequence!

    Regards,

    PS: I shall look forward to reading about your trip

  2. Hi! Thank you for your comment. I hope you enjoyed the sequence. I am back from my trip and it was magical! The city, the people, the practice… everything was perfect, and I can’t wait to go back! I hope we cross paths in India or anywhere in the world one day.

    Love xx

Leave a Reply

