Peaceful Mind, Strong Body, Bright Yoga Future

Yousef and I spent a lovely day in the park, taking photos of a few poses for Module 3’s homework. Module 3 starts next weekend, and there is so much to look forward to: events, more yoga, spending time with everyone in class, and graduating. I’ll leave the sad part for when it’s time to be sad. It was a beautiful sunny day, quiet enough that we could hear the wind blow through the grass. The photos were proof that my asanas were improving, which gives me even more confidence in what I’m capable of as a yogini and as a person. I struggled with the headstand pose though. At one point, while attempting a headstand, I jumped into it too quickly and shot my legs right up that my mind freaked out and my body froze. Scared to death, literally, I came down quickly. From that point on, getting into the pose was impossible no matter how many times I tried. Even though my yoga session was not free from any flaw or defect in quality or condition, my day in the park had all the required and desirable elements: Yousef, my Nikon D40, Yousef behind my Nikon D40 snapping photos (joy!), good music blasting from Yousef’s iPhone (Led Zeppelin, Beatles, Jimi Hendrix), sun, trees, lake, yoga mat… Everything was as good as it could possibly be – it simply was perfect.

Below are photos from our day out in the park with names of each pose in Sanskrit and English. Every time I practice, I notice change in my body. Some days, I notice I am stronger, other days I notice I’m becoming more open and more flexible. Of course, there still is so much room for improvement. With regular practice, determination, positive energy, and the right amount of support, it’s only a matter of time until I begin to notice even more changes and improvements in my practice, the asanas, and life.

I hope everyone had a wonderful time celebrating the holidays with their loved ones. I had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner with family, close friends, and my man. I will dedicate a post to sharing pictures from that night with all of you. New Year’s Eve was an extremely busy night in Dubai. The streets were blocked my cars parking in the middle of the road to see the fireworks display at Burj Khalifa, and the cops closed off all the exits. There is so much to look forward to in 2011: a new job, new projects, travel plans, a new year filled with surprises and happy moments that I can’t wait to experience and capture.

Utthita Hasta Padangustasana – Extended Hand-to-Big Toe Pose

Natarajasana – Dancer’s Pose

Parivrtta Trikonasana – Revolved Triangle Pose

Baddha Trikonasana – Bound Triangle Pose

Ardha Bandha Vrksasana – Half Bound Tree Pose

Vrksasana – Tree Pose

Baddha Eka Pada Rajakapotasana – Bound One-Legged King Pigeon Pose

Urdhva Dhanurasana – Full Wheel Pose

Parivrtta Anjaneyasana – Revolved Lunge Pose

Leave a Reply

